The creators of Unix

When I’m writing this on my laptop I would like to think it’s a state of the art machine. But the software is based on Unix that was born the same year as I was. That doesn’t make it bad, it tells us it has survived for decades were software can be replaced in an instant. So who came up with Unix?

(I wrote this on a Mac and updated it on a laptop running Linux)

Ken Thompson and Dennis Ritchie together others developed Unix in the early 1970’s. Ritchie also created the programming language C used to develop Unix. Today you’ll find Unix and its variants along with software written in C everywhere.

ZDNet: Without Dennis Ritchie there would be no Steve Jobs

Wired: Dennis Ritchie: the shoulders Steve Jobs stood on

The Guardian: Dennis Ritchie orbituary

Computer history: Ken ThompsonDennis Ritchie

Dennis Ritchie’s web page

Dr Dobbs: Interview with Ken Thompson

Wikipedia: Unix | Ken Thompson | Dennis Ritchie | C | Bell Labs

Comments are closed.